My laptop died.  I would say it’s a writer’s worst nightmare, but that sort of minimizes the impact of a rejection, doesn’t it?  LOL.  At any rate, I lost some of my edits to HMW – only about three chapters’ worth – and I swear the LAST thing I want to do is re-do them.  I made the first edits, send the file to my crit partner, and fiddled more after her comments.  All I lost was the latter amount of fiddling since I still have those emails (attachments and all) but the idea of going back to that manuscript AGAIN … ugh! 

It’s not that I don’t love the story, because I do.  Heck, I BE-love the story.  I think the problem stems from the fact that I’ve been working on it forever.  I got very little accomplished for weeks at a time (I spent those weeks experiencing “morning sickness” all day long on the bathroom floor) and, worse, I’ve been “finished” since April.  That’s a LOOONG time to edit, but I had a lot of hiccups.  Bed rest, new baby, new book release (no actual hiccups).  ‘Nuff said?  LOL.  Frankly, I’m tired of looking at it, but I still think it’s a fantastic story and I can’t wait to submit it. 

As for the burnout, I suspect I’ve got a cure for that in the works.  What writer isn’t inspired by a brand new computer?  =cP